Here at Elite Food Safety Training, we are more than a ServSafe© provider.

Along with the wide variety of courses we offer, we also have Auditing Services, Co-Inspect and Therma Demos, and a promise of partnership. All clients -past, present and future- are treated with respect and kindness. Our team is dedicated to being personable and available to all. Each client is treated as the MVC (Most Valuable Client).

EFST was born out of a passion to partner with and help guide food service workers and professionals as they strive to create and maintain safe kitchens and environments in their establishments.

EFST is a Certified Provider of ServSafe© courses. This training is designed for anyone desiring more than a “conveyer belt” training. As professionals in the food industry, we’ve seen many other training providers promise to give you what you want. However, EFST is dedicated to giving you what you need. Our mission is to ensure our clients are continuing to learn long after their class has ended. We strive to educate our clients in a way that ensures the knowledge they receive is retained and used professionally and personally each day.

Our instructors are trained to use a wide variety of teaching methods to keep the courses entertaining and interesting. At EFST we understand time is money, that’s why we provide a safe, professional classroom style training designed to ensure the retention of study material with a blended learning approach. We use videos, quizzes, handouts, role playing and more. This approach encourages attendees to listen, watch and retain key food safety principles. Our clients are able to go back to their place of business and be a true leader in food safety. They successfully lead their teams and are confident in the knowledge they have obtained. We want our clients to enjoy their training and at the end feel equipped with the knowledge they need to handle any food safety problem.

Meet the Owner – Sam Derr

My name is Sam Derr. I have been a certified ServSafe© Instructor and Proctor for the past 13 years. I was professionally trained as Sushi Chef at the world famous California Sushi Academy. My training was given by Toshi Sugiura and Zoran Lekic. I know and understand the physical and mental strength it takes to run a restaurant operation. I also provide ServSafe food safety training and Sushi oversight training for many U.S. Military Commissaries as “Sushi Sam”.

The fast paced and ever-changing environment inside a kitchen can be extremely complex especially when handling “Sushi”. Also, as we now come into the post “COVID-19” world where food safety is even more important than ever to help restaurant owners with a high degree of operations and creative ways to maximize sales. I focus on keeping the studying and course material exciting, engaging and sharing new data and food safety information relative to the industry while focusing on safe food practices daily that are always my #1 priority!​

In addition to being a certified ServSafe© Instructor and Proctor, my credentials include: ​

  • National Restaurant Association – Allied Member
  • Food Allergen Specialist
  • National Environmental Health Association Food Safety Auditor
  • National Environmental Health Association HACCP Manager
  • Professional Sushi Chef
  • Certified Sake Advisor
  • Consult for Military Deli & Bakery Services to provide oversight for over 100 sushi locations within the U.S. Military segment.
  • Very knowledgeable of Military food segment safety and public health.
  • Restaurant OSHA Instructor.
  • NEHA Member

President / Owner

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Illinois

Meet the Team

Executives

Laura Geer
Laura Geer

Chief Marketing Officer
lgeer@elitefoodsafety.com

Melissa Barton
Melissa Barton

Director of Training
mbarton@elitefoodsafety.com

Sara Roberts
Sara Roberts

Chief Financial Officer
sroberts@elitefoodsafety.com

Support Team

Todd Everhardt
Todd Everhardt

Client Relations
teverhardt@elitefoodsafety.com

Dalia Vazquez
Dalia Vazquez

Client Relations
dvazquez@elitefoodsafety.com

The Instructors

Brian Santiago
Brian Santiago

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: New Hampshire
bsantiago@elitefoodsafety.com

Jason Fridrich
Jason Fridrich

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Florida
jfridrich@elitefoodsafety.com

Maria Santana
Maria Santana

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Michigan
msantana@elitefoodsafety.com
En Español

Mark Richardson
Mark Richardson

Instructor / Proctor / Auditor
Areas Serviced: Carolina’s / Georgia
mrichardson@elitefoodsafety.com

Mark Zieres
Mark Zieres

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Wyoming
mzieres@elitefoodsafety.com

Andrew Grogan
Andrew Grogan

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Connecticut / NY
agrogan@elitefoodsafety.com

Todd Eanes
Todd Eanes

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Arizona
teanes@elitefoodsafety.com

Cerina Butler
Cerina Butler

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Atlanta, GA
cbutler@elitefoodsafety.com

Vicky Murillo
Vicky Murillo

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Texas
vmurillo@elitefoodsafety.com

Carlos Aguilera
Carlos Aguilera

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Florida
caguilera@elitefoodsafety.com

Matt Lichlyter
Matt Lichlyter

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Colorado
mlichlyter@elitefoodsafety.com

Valerie Calderon
Valerie Calderon

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Wichita, KS
vcalderon@elitefoodsafety.com

Jamie Rice
Jamie Rice

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: New Hampshire
jrice@elitefoodsafety.com

Araceli Lambert
Araceli Lambert

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Las Vegas, NV
alambert@elitefoodsafety.com

Justin Dixon
Justin Dixon

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Pittsburgh, PA
jdixon@elitefoodsafety.com

Andres Carranza

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Charlotte, NC
acarranza@elitefoodsafety.com

Jeffrey Lyons
Jeffrey Lyons

Instructor / Proctor
Areas Serviced: Baltimore, MD
jlyons@elitefoodsafety.com

Thank you for trusting Elite Food Safety Training for your training needs!